Stroke Center

The Stroke Center at Faxton St. Luke’s Healthcare is the only designated Primary Stroke Center in the Mohawk Valley and one of only 115 designated Stroke Centers in New York State.

To improve the standard of quality and access to care for patients with signs and symptoms of stroke, the New York State Department of Health designates stroke centers statewide.

What does this designation mean for you?

Our whole hospital is involved in your care, from emergency treatment and education through recovery and rehabilitation.

We are ready before you arrive.

  • A primary nurse is assigned to you for one-on-one care
  • An Emergency Department physician is notified of your condition
  • A lab technician is waiting to draw blood
  • CT scanner and EKG technicians are notified and ready for your arrival
  • Pharmacy is ready to consult for t-PA dosage, learn more about this critical tool for stroke treatment.

Our dedicated clinical professionals have received extensive training as part of our Stroke Center designation and all patients' outcomes are monitored to conitnually improve the care we provide.


Get With The Guidelines® Stroke Gold Plus Achievement Award

Faxton St. Luke’s Healthcare (FSLH), the area’s only designated Primary Stroke Center, received the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines® Stroke Gold Plus Achievement Award for the sixth year in a row. The award recognizes FSLH’s commitment and success in implementing excellent care for stroke patients, according to evidence-based guidelines.

To receive the award, FSLH achieved 85 percent or higher adherence to all Get With The Guidelines Stroke Achievement indicators for two or more consecutive 12-month intervals and achieved 75 percent or higher compliance with six of 10 Get With The Guidelines Stroke Quality Measures, which are reporting initiatives to measure quality of care.

In addition to the Get With The Guidelines Stroke award, FSLH has also been recognized as a recipient of the association’s Target: Stroke Honor Roll for improving stroke care. Receiving this honor means that more than 50 percent of eligible ischemic stroke patients received IV rt-PA within 60 minutes of arriving at the hospital (known as “door-to-needle” time). This is considered the “Gold Standard” for t-PA administration and receiving both the Gold Plus and Target: Stroke Honor Roll awards is the highest award status given and makes FSLH one of the top Stroke Centers in the United States.